Date :Jan 4, 2017

Father Muller Simulation and Skills Centre (FMSSC), with a vision to be a world class leader in simulation based clinical education and research, hosted the First International Conference on Healthcare Simulation in India on 2nd& 3rdDecember 2016.


The Programme was inaugurated by Lighting the Lamp by the Chief Guest, Dr S Sacchidanand, Director of Medical Education, Government of Karnataka, along with other dignitaries namely, Ms. Amanda Wilford and Mr Gary Eves from CAE Healthcare, Prof. Robert O’Brien and Dr Balaji Pai as Guests of Honour, Dr M. Vijayakumar, Vice Chancellor, Yenepoya University, and Dr Jayaprakash Alva, Dean, FMMC.  Rev. Fr Patrick Rodrigues, Director, Father Muller Charitable Institutions presided over the function. The Conference was sponsored by CAE Healthcare in association with Macula Healthcare, co-hosted by Yenepoya University and was well attended by more than 350 people which included resource faculty and delegates from India and abroad.

The highlights of the program were the live disaster drill which was conducted at Father Muller Medical College and the CAE Cup competition conducted at Yenepoya University. The live simulated drill on high fidelity simulators was performed by a dynamic FMSSC faculty based on the Code Yellow protocol. For the CAE cup, the participating team had to assess, diagnose and manage a trauma scenario on a high fidelity mannequin. The faculties of FMSSC namely, Mrs Thara Machado, In charge of MICU, Mrs Eliza Monteiro, In charge of casualty and Dr Manohar Martis from the Department of Surgery, were part of the team of 5 who won the first prize receiving cash of five thousand rupees each.

HPSN INDIA 2016 was a huge success and our institute received global recognition as one of the foremost advanced functioning Simulation centres in India. The FMSSC team received accolades from delegates & international faculty for the meticulous organising of the Father Muller chapter of HPSN India 2016. The FMSSC team is grateful to the management, resource faculty and delegates for their support in achieving this global feat.