Date : Nov 24, 2017

21st DERMAZONE SOUTH Conference and 8th Annual Conference of Karnataka, Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL) was held at Father Muller Convention Centre, Mangalore between 17th to 19th November 2017. Nearly 1,200  delegates from all over India and abroad participated in this mega event. 

The conference was preceeded by “HOW TO PUBLISH” Workshop on 16th November at Decennial Memorial Hall, Father Muller Medical College.  It was organized by Internal Quality Assurance cell, Father Muller Medical College in association with Dermatology department and IADVL Karnataka Branch

Rev. Fr. Rudolph Ravi D’Sa Administrator FMMCH inaugurated the workshop.  Dr. Indrani Karunasagar, Director – Research - NITTE University delivered the key note address. Dr. Nilay Kanti Das, Kolkatta was the guest of honour during the workshop.  There was an enthusiastic participation by  121 delegates in this workshop.  

The  21st DERMAZONE SOUTH conference  was  inaugurated by Dr. Yogesh S Marfatia, IADVL National President on 17th November 2017 at 6.30 pm.  Rev. Fr. Richard Coelho, Director, Father Muller Charitable Institutions, Dr. Ramesh Bhat M, IADVL National President Elect, Dr. Vijay Zawar, Vice President – IADVL National, Dr. K R Kamath, President, IMA – Mangalore were the guests of honour for the inauguration and CUTICON Karnataka conference was inaugurated by  Dr.  S Sacchidanand, Director of Medical Education, Government of Karnataka on 18th November 201 at 11am.  Dr. Jayaprakash Alva, Dean, FMMC was the Guest of Honour.   Dr. Venkataram Mysore was awarded and felicitated with prestigious Prof. Siddappa Memorial Lifetime achievement Award.  Dr. Arun C Inamdar, IADVL Karnataka Branch President presided over both the inaugural functions.   

Prof Dr. Ganesh S Pai was the organizing committee chairman, Dr.Nanda Kishore B  & Dr. C Balachandran were  Co Chairmans of the conference.   

Dr. Sukumar D, Professor & Head of Dermatology Department, Father Muller Medical College was the organizing secretary of DERMAZONE South and Dr. Manjunath Shenoy, Professor & Head of Dermatology Department, Yenepoya Medical College of CUTICON Karnataka.   

Dr. Ramesh Bhat M, Professor & IADVL National President Elect and Dr. K Narendra Kamath  were Coordinators of the conference. Dr. Sathish Pai, Professor & Head of Dermatology department, KMC Manipal & Dr. Gatha Upadya, Professor & HOD KMC Mangalore were Chairmen of Conference Scientific Committee.  Dr. Jacintha Martis, Professor, Department of Dermatology, Father Muller Medical College and Dr. Balasaraswathy, Consultant Dermatologist Mangalore were Treasurers for the conference.  

The conference had scientific deliberations in the field of Dermatology, Venereology, Leprosy and Cosmetology. Accredition was received by Karnataka Medical Council for  6 points. The theme of the conference was “DERMATOLOGY IN MEDICINE  - THE INSIDE STORY”.It  highlighted on skin manifestations of lifestyle diseases and skin cancers which is a growing concern.  The lectures were delivered by renowned National and International Faculty.    

Dr. Ashwini Babu, Alumni of department of Dermatology, Father Muller Medical College was presented with “Best Dissertation Award” for her post graduate dissertation titled “Ultrasonography as a diagnostic modality for the involvement of peripheral nerves in leprosy”.

Dr.(Maj.Gen.) A. K Jaiswal delivered Prof. J N Shetty Oration on 18th November 2017 to enlighten us about current scenario of sexually transmitted infections in armed forces.

Dr. B Leelavathy delivered Prof Shiva Kumar & Prof Rajendran Memorial Oration on 19th November 2017 highlighting cutaneous manifestations of HIV infections.

Skin Care Run was held on 18th November 2017 at 6.30 am which was  flagged off by Kannada Film actress Sharmila Mandre.  This run was arranged to create awareness on the growing misuse of over the counter topical corticosteroids as fairness creams. 

In addition to the academic feast, scientific research papers, posters were presented by practicing Dermatologists and Post Graduates during the conference.