Scintilla 2018: State Level Quiz Competition in Biochemistry

Date : Apr 19, 2018

The Department of Biochemistry, FMMC conducted a state level quiz competition for I MBBS students on 13th April 2018. The programme began at 9.30 am with the inauguration.

 Professor Aloysius Sequeira, Dean , NITK Surathkal, was the chief guest.  He  appreciated the initiative from the Department and explained the importance of the Biochemistry subject and the need for programmes to create interest among  students on  the advances in Biochemistry.

Rev. Fr Rudolph Ravi D’Sa, Administrator of FMMCH, presided over the programme. In his presidential address, he lauded the efforts of Biochemistry Department in organizing the state level quiz for the first time this year after organizing the event for five years at the regional level.  He appreciated the performance of the department in academics and clinical laboratory. The dignitaries on the dais wished that one day the department would organize national level quiz.

Dr Malathi M., Head of the Biochemistry department welcomed the chief guest with a bouquet of flowers.  Rev. Fr Ajith Menezes, Administrator of FMMC presented a memento to the chief guest.

Dr Jayaprakash Alva, Dean of FMMC welcomed the gathering and Dr Ramlingareddy introduced the chief guest.  Dr Arun Kumar K., proposed vote of thanks.

Dr Maitreyee DS and Dr Shailaja Katti were the masters of ceremony for the day.

A total of 36 teams (comprising three students each) from across the state of Karnataka participated  in the event. First, a preliminary written quiz was conducted from which 12 best teams were selected. Semi-final was conducted for the 12 teams. Six best teams selected from the semi finals, participated in the Finals. There were a variety of questions covering the syllabus of I MBBS Biochemistry. The rounds included MCQs, visuals, sequencing, buzzer, rapid fire, rearranging, scientists, answer with hints and case reports. 

Finally, the team-1 from KMC Manipal emerged as champions. The second and third prizes were bagged by Rajarajeshwari Medical College, Bangalore and FMMC Mangalore respectively.  Teams from KMC Manipal (team-2), KMC Mangalore and MMC Mysore got consolation awards.

The quiz masters for the event were, Dr Shivashankara A.R., Dr Avinash SS, Dr Shailaja Katti and  Dr Ramlingareddy.  Dr Ashalatha Rao, Retired  Professor of Biochemistry was the neutral observer and referee for the event.

The feedback from delegates revealed appreciation for the meticulous conduction and  excellent chemistry of  the Team Biochemistry of FMMC. The programme ended at 4.30 PM.

The organizing committee members led by Dr Malathi M. comprising of Dr Shivashankara A.R., Dr Avinash SS, Dr Arun Kumar K., Dr  Maitreyee DS, Dr Shailaja Katti,  Dr Ramlingareddy, Dr Anurag Yadav, Ms Claudia Johny and the student volunteers and non-teaching staff of Biochemistry worked hard to make the event a grand success.